The sooner A-Levels cease to exist in my life…the better!

(For international readers, a-levels are college equivalents)

2 years ago, I was able to perch myself into a plush recliner, fresh coffee in one hand, my phone glued to the other so conveniently whilst fixating my eyes and all my attention to the TV screen. Want to know the best part? This time consuming ritual that I would partake in every evening, 2 years ago, came at little concequence. Why? Because 2 years ago I did GCSE’s and not A-Levels! The good days, if I had had an inclin into how consumptive A-Levels were I’d have ran for the hills, no doubt followed by another thousand reluctant teens. I feel like, if I read one book for pleasure, or watch a movie just one… Then I’ve already ruined my chances of passing my exams!

They told me to do some light reading… That was the first lie of A-Levels.

 
Why I would vanquish A-levels from my life before I would Labour Voters…

  1. The lies: they will tell you that picking your own subjects will render you eternally happy and you’ll be so amazed and joyful that you are studying what you want to that you won’t even think of it as work. 
  2. The pain: that burning sensation in your eyes from too much reading and gazing aimlessly at a computer screen? Yeah that will last you forever!
  3. The isolation: you will be so caught up in your work that you have to say a heartfelt goodbye to your social life and learn to have a relationship with your books. Me and Plato have grown rather close.
  4. The weight: this is applicable for both guys and girls. The ten kilo bag you’ll carry around with all your resources in, no room for your personal items. If your nose starts running and you had no space to pack tissues… There’s always your exercise book.
  5. The belittling: most students range between 16-18, yet one of my teachers still insists at shouting at me for being late, not doing my homework and for having an opinion. 
  6. The hatred: I’ll keep this short and sweet. You will end up loathing about 98.99% of the people at your school. But it’s okay because the chances are… They hate you too.
  7. The zombie look: the countless hours I have traded in to write an essay is ridiculous, I have the dark circles to prove it!
  8. The fire burns down: I can no longer read a novel without exploring the underlying meaning, I read The hungry caterpillar to my little brother, the most simply of stories, yet I found copious amounts of psychological interpretations…their validity? None.
  9. The hair loss: a product of stress no doubt, but I could really do without bald spots left, right and centre.
  10. The addictions: you have to find a way to curb your anger, mine comes in the form of addiction. Don’t worry, I mean caffeine… Mostly.

These are just a few of the things I’d love to banish from my life, the only light is after the toils of A-level, I finally understand why adults wish they stayed young. Growing up, I think, starts at sixth form, college or your countries equivalent. I’d give anything to fast forward to retirement or backtrack to adolescence. 

For most people, summer is what is getting us through! I can’t wait for this summer! 

The relatability is uncanny 

  

14 thoughts on “The sooner A-Levels cease to exist in my life…the better!

  1. I remember all of this. At the time, it seemed so all consuming and the most important thing. In hindsight, it really did not matter how well I did in A levels, no one ever asks, once you have gone on to the next level. Not that you need to hear that right now!! I still have nightmares of going in to A level exams, and feeling totally unprepared.. that’s almost 30 years later!! How damaging is that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Been there and call me crazy but I’m coming back for more this summer..:/
    Last year was the worst, working full time and going to school full time is definitely not recommended!

    But hang in there, to me, it paid off well. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t let this put you off! It’s just that you really have to be committed to do well otherwise A Levels are torture! The long hall is uni and that motivates most people to just focus 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

